I’m converted

December 23, 2005 at 11:06 pm Leave a comment

Yesterday, my laptop died. Someone at work rolled over the cord with a desk chair last week, partially severing some wires in the process. But Mom had bandaged it up with electrical tape, so I thought everything was ok.

Well, I was typing away yesterday, and all of a sudden I smelled something burning. I looked over and saw a cloud of smoke wafting out of the cord, and a half inch flame coming from the taped-up section. Ay yi yi. So I bolted out of my chair and yanked the plug out of the wall.

Brother. Well, what’s a girl to do? I didn’t have time to wait a couple weeks to get a new power cord, since I’m supposed to be writing a paper over Christmas break. I’d been thinking about getting a new laptop for a while, though, so I told my parents I should probably just head to Best Buy and pop for a new model. Grr.

Well, my parents apparently thought they wouldn’t be able to contain me from going out and doing something silly, so Mom called our whole family together last night and plopped a big fat box down in front of me. “Early Christmas present,” she said.

Lo and behold, I opened the box, and Mom and Dad had bought me…

*gasp*

…an iBook!

For me, a sworn PC user!

I’m not sure I’ve ever been so surprised by a Christmas present in my life. I had no idea my parents were planning to get me a new laptop at all–let alone a Mac, of all things.

Well, it never would have occurred to me to pick out a Mac for myself, but there’s something about having a shiny new box in front of me begging, “Open me! Open me!” that somehow motivated me to consider the whole Apple thing. Tyler got out his iBook to give me a quick Mac tour to see if I thought I could adjust to the new system. Well, after a once over, it didn’t seem quite so bad, so I finally popped open the seal on my box and started her up.

So here we are–my first post on my iBook. I guess that means I’m officially converted. Now, depending on your Apple bias, you can go ahead and either congratulate me or blacklist me. 😉

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Verbal violence Without expectations

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Profile

profile.jpgI am working on my M.A. in Religion at Andrews University in Berrien Springs, Michigan. Besides having a big interest in theology, history, ethics, and the deep stuff of life, I am also very fond of Mediterranean food, snow, and the color red.

Email me: jamie.kiley@gmail.com

Recent Posts


