Would we really want to know?

February 17, 2006 at 11:00 pm Leave a comment

If reality isn’t fundamentally good, then maybe the truth isn’t actually worth knowing.

That’s the intriguing point Ariel (of BitterSweetLife) made on his blog last weekend. As he explained, it is possible for there to come a point at which reality is bad enough that “it becomes more attractive to subvert truth than to adjust to it.” In his words:

I am a big fan of Truth. But this is because I believe in a God, Jesus Christ, who blends love and justice with lovely and radical perfection, and who has created this world with a purpose, and plans to redeem it.

On the other hand, if Darwinists are right, and our world is fundamentally purposeless and directionless, reality isn’t quite as compelling. Hence the question: If Darwinism were true, would we really want to know?

Like Ariel, I am devoted to pursuing authentic reality. But I’m not sure I’m committed to truth just for truth’s sake. My desire for truth exists only because I am convinced that reality is actually good. If for some reason it turned out the truth were not good, maybe I’d rather live in make-believe.

Sure, some might call this stupid faith. But when it comes right down to it, if my reality turned out to be fake, I’m not sure that truth would be worth pointing out.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

So wise Screen sucking: Are you guilty?

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Profile

profile.jpgI am working on my M.A. in Religion at Andrews University in Berrien Springs, Michigan. Besides having a big interest in theology, history, ethics, and the deep stuff of life, I am also very fond of Mediterranean food, snow, and the color red.

Email me: jamie.kiley@gmail.com

Recent Posts


