Creating my own enemies

October 9, 2006 at 10:34 pm Leave a comment

My last post on God, Doubt and the Truman Show drew a bit of criticism from Jonathan, who chided me for making statements about the scientific method that were too sweeping and imprecise.

I suppose Jonathan’s criticisms are justified. I still believe there is a sense in which the scientific establishment undermines Christianity, and no one can deny that science and faith are often pitted against each other in the public arena. However, Jonathan is right: Not all scientists are anti-Christian, and it is unfair of me to imply that science in general is “out to get” Christianity.

One of my professors observed once to me that Christians in general have a tendency to think in a warfare mentality—an us vs. them scenario in which we automatically assume the “other” is an enemy. He has a point: We Christians tend to assume that our beliefs will be undermined, so we react as if we are being attacked.

In some sense, the warfare mode of thinking is legitimate; Paul specifically tells Christians to put on the “armor of God” (cf. Ephesians 6:10-18). However, I suspect we sometimes manufacture our own enemies. As often as not, our “wars” with non-Christians probably come less from the fact that we face real antagonists and more from the fact that we are too quick to label and dismiss other people without trying to see their perspectives first.

Christianity has enough legitimate enemies already; I suppose it’s probably best that I not create more by undue alienation.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

God, doubt, and The Truman Show Asking Peter

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Profile

profile.jpgI am working on my M.A. in Religion at Andrews University in Berrien Springs, Michigan. Besides having a big interest in theology, history, ethics, and the deep stuff of life, I am also very fond of Mediterranean food, snow, and the color red.

Email me: jamie.kiley@gmail.com

Recent Posts


