Asking Peter

October 13, 2006 at 10:33 pm Leave a comment

On Friday a week ago, I asked Peter if he was happy being an atheist.

“Of course!” he replied.

“How?” I pressed him.

“Why not?” said Peter incredulously. “Tomorrow, I will eat steak, hang out with my friends, and have great conversations. Why shouldn’t I be happy?”

I couldn’t answer.

We talked half an hour more, and he seemed genuine; still half of me wondered whether to believe him, wondered whether to try to probe deeper and see what was below the surface of his hedonistic contentment.

Aren’t people supposed to be unhappy without God?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Creating my own enemies Why Krissy has to ask

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Profile

profile.jpgI am working on my M.A. in Religion at Andrews University in Berrien Springs, Michigan. Besides having a big interest in theology, history, ethics, and the deep stuff of life, I am also very fond of Mediterranean food, snow, and the color red.

Email me: jamie.kiley@gmail.com

Recent Posts


