Literary lucky-dipping

February 10, 2007 at 9:50 pm Leave a comment

Ariel tagged me to participate in a bit of literary lucky-dipping. Ordinarily I’m not much into memes, but one must make an exception for the literary variety. Those kind are pardonable. 😉

Here goes:

1) Skillfully grab the book closest to you.
*Closes eyes and reaches.*

2) Quickly open to page 123, go down to the fourth sentence.
Mmm-kay.

3) Post the text of the following three sentences.
“It was nothing to do with liking or not liking. You see, it was a purely Divisional affair. There’d be no question of asking anyone who hadn’t been in the Nth.”

*scratches head* I have no idea. I haven’t read that far. Maybe (hopefully!) it’ll get clearer by the time I actually get to that point of the book.

4) Name the author and book title.
C.S. Lewis, Surprised by Joy.

Now I need to get back to reading the book so I can figure out what in the world those three sentences are about. Given that it’s Lewis, it has to be something brilliant.

5) Tag an indefinite number of people to do the same (so, it could be ‘0’).
Most of the people on my list of regular reads don’t do memes (as far as I know), so…Stephen?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Abstinence is better? Who’d have thought? On love

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Profile

profile.jpgI am working on my M.A. in Religion at Andrews University in Berrien Springs, Michigan. Besides having a big interest in theology, history, ethics, and the deep stuff of life, I am also very fond of Mediterranean food, snow, and the color red.

Email me: jamie.kiley@gmail.com

Recent Posts


