Innoculating dose of Christianity?

March 25, 2007 at 4:57 pm Leave a comment

I’m in Nebraska this weekend for my cousin’s wedding, and last night I got into a discussion with the pastor who is officiating at the ceremony tomorrow.

Dan teaches ministry classes in the religion program at Union College here in Lincoln, and he was telling me something about the fact that he likes teaching classes for non-theology majors much better than classes for theology majors.

I asked him why.

He said, “Because theology majors are no longer excited by the freshness of God. They’re busy trying to prove to everyone else that they already have it figured out.”

Ouch. Good words of warning for me, given that I will most likely be a seminary student in the fall.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

All things are ours? Share your thoughts (Thinking about) believing

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Profile

profile.jpgI am working on my M.A. in Religion at Andrews University in Berrien Springs, Michigan. Besides having a big interest in theology, history, ethics, and the deep stuff of life, I am also very fond of Mediterranean food, snow, and the color red.

Email me: jamie.kiley@gmail.com

Recent Posts


