Nice little insult

August 14, 2007 at 10:21 pm 4 comments

I am currently drowning in Latin homework, but hope to resurface here soon. A little tidbit until I return:

While studying Latin vocab the other day, I learned that the English word “nice” comes from the Latin nescius, meaning “ignorant.” So on all those occasions when someone told you were “such a nice person,” they might have just been venting private frustration about you without wanting to be obviously rude. 😉

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

What is freedom: Choice or liberation? Back to student life

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tyler  |  August 17, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    This post made me less nice. I hope you’re happy.

    Reply
  • 2. Stephen (aka Q)  |  August 20, 2007 at 2:31 pm

    Latin homework? Is this part of your theology studies? (Seems unlikely, since you’re not Roman Catholic ….)

    Reply
  • 3. Jamie  |  August 21, 2007 at 12:33 am

    Tyler: Goof. 😉

    Stephen: Nope, it’s not for theology studies. A year ago, I was still thinking I wanted to pursue graduate study in history rather than theology, and since I was interested in medieval theological/philosophical history, my advisor told me I should start learning Latin. So I did, but I never finished the second semester of my Latin course. (It’s an online, work-at-your-own-pace course, which is why I had so much flexibility.) Since I quit working on Latin completely for about 10 months, I forgot most of what I had learned and had to start over, which is why it’s taking me so long now. Note to self: procrastination never works out well!

    Reply
  • 4. Stephen (aka Q)  |  August 23, 2007 at 2:14 pm

    Taking courses at your own pace requires a huge amount of self-discipline!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Profile

profile.jpgI am working on my M.A. in Religion at Andrews University in Berrien Springs, Michigan. Besides having a big interest in theology, history, ethics, and the deep stuff of life, I am also very fond of Mediterranean food, snow, and the color red.

Email me: jamie.kiley@gmail.com

Recent Posts


