Back to student life

August 23, 2007 at 12:43 am 10 comments

Greetings from Michigan. I arrived here yesterday with all my worldly belongings (er, at least everything I need to survive in a dorm room for 4 months). I start seminary classes on Monday here at Andrews University, which is in the southwest tip of the “mitten.” I’m horrendously excited. So far, I am experiencing none of the extreme cold I’ve been warned about, but it is at least a few degrees cooler than in blistering Atlanta, and that’s definitely something to be thankful for.

Real post coming soon as soon as the dust settles around here…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Nice little insult Did Job’s wife speak foolishly?

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sam  |  August 23, 2007 at 3:38 am

    What are you studying – BD/BTh?

    Reply
  • 2. Jamie  |  August 23, 2007 at 10:14 am

    Hmm…I can’t decipher what “BD” might refer to. I’m in the master of divinity program for now (a professional program), but I will very likely switch to the master of arts in religion next year (which is a more academic program). It’s not that I’m not interested in ministry, but I don’t feel at all drawn to pastoral work or chaplaincy or anything like that, which is what the M.Div. is for. I’m more interested in the scholarly/academic work, which would be preparation for teaching and research, and the M.A. would be better for that. Problem is, the M.Div. program is drastically cheaper, which is why I’m starting out there. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Stephen (aka Q)  |  August 23, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    You’re attending a Seventh Day Adventist University? I thought you were moving away from the denomination.

    And where were you studying over the summer? I thought you were already taking some New Testament courses.

    Reply
  • 4. Jamie  |  August 24, 2007 at 12:25 pm

    Stephen: Well, here’s the thing. The Adventist church has its weaknesses, but it also has major strengths. There are some things I disagree with (as I would anywhere), and some points of doctrine on which I’m not entirely sure what I think, but I’m not willing to jump ship over those. I have some non-traditional leanings, and I have a tendency to speak up when there’s something I don’t agree with, but this denomination and the people of which it is comprised are important to me. I don’t want to tear either one down.

    Reply
  • 5. Jamie  |  August 24, 2007 at 9:37 pm

    Oh, and regarding the last question (sorry, I missed that part on the first read), yes, I was taking a NT course this summer. It was a correspondence course done through the mail, which I had to take because it was a prereq for admission to Andrews this fall.

    Reply
  • 6. Adrielle  |  August 28, 2007 at 12:51 am

    * dismayed *

    I don’t think your posts are showing up on the ROC blogroll, anymore. You’re still listed as a member but the new posts aren’t appearing there and so all this time I’ve been thinking you haven’t been posting and now I have a lot of catching up to do! 🙂

    * begins catching up *

    Reply
  • 7. Adrielle  |  August 28, 2007 at 12:51 am

    Oh, btw, I love the new site design!

    Reply
  • 8. Jamie  |  August 30, 2007 at 9:58 pm

    Adrielle: *sigh* You’re right, I’m not in the ROC blogroll anymore. When I moved my blog, the URL for my RSS feed changed, so sites like ROC that were syndicating me couldn’t pick up my posts anymore. I emailed the ROC staff twice about the new URL, but they haven’t changed it. I guess I’m out of luck! But I’m glad you decided to return for a visit. 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Kristin  |  September 1, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    Welcome to the Great Lakes state…err…the land of ice, sleet, snow and sub-zero temperatures (aka: Michigan). Too bad you weren’t here to experience summer; it’s a beautiful time of year. Unfortunately, arctic temperatures will be descending before you know it 🙂

    That aside, I too have been reading your blog via ROC and realized I hadn’t seen anything from you recently so I decided to check in. It’s too bad they haven’t added you yet. As a former board member there, perhaps I can use my status to get them to fix it up 😉

    Have a wonderful weekend and I look forward to reading more!

    Reply
  • 10. Jamie  |  September 2, 2007 at 12:14 am

    Kristin: I might not have been here to experience summer, but the weather this week has been made to order. I know it’s not going to last, though–better enjoy it while it’s here!

    Thanks for looking me up again. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Profile

profile.jpgI am working on my M.A. in Religion at Andrews University in Berrien Springs, Michigan. Besides having a big interest in theology, history, ethics, and the deep stuff of life, I am also very fond of Mediterranean food, snow, and the color red.

Email me: jamie.kiley@gmail.com

Recent Posts


