Storyteller’s Creed

June 22, 2008 at 7:56 pm 2 comments

Reading through the introduction to Robert Fulghum’s All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten last night, I ran across Fulghum’s Storyteller’s Creed:

I believe that imagination is stronger than knowledge.
That myth is more potent than history.
That dreams are more powerful than facts.
That hope always triumphs over experience.
That laughter is the only cure for grief.
And I believe that love is stronger than death.

My first instinct: Question the accuracy of this oh-so-postmodern creed, especially the first three lines. But that judgment shows my bias in favor of hard and fast truths, and since a lot of truths aren’t as hard or fast or easy to nail down as I’d like, maybe I shouldn’t be so quick to judge. Perhaps there are advantages to letting life be art, rather than data?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Sin: To be cured, or to be punished? Strange Fire

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. James Pate  |  June 24, 2008 at 9:39 am

    Welcome back!

    Reply
  • 2. Matthew  |  September 18, 2008 at 8:52 am

    Heh heh…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Profile

profile.jpgI am working on my M.A. in Religion at Andrews University in Berrien Springs, Michigan. Besides having a big interest in theology, history, ethics, and the deep stuff of life, I am also very fond of Mediterranean food, snow, and the color red.

Email me: jamie.kiley@gmail.com

Recent Posts


