Against the consumerist onslaught

October 27, 2008 at 1:12 pm 3 comments

It’s that change of season again, where most women of the western world suddenly have “nothing to wear” and “must” buy new clothes.

This morning, the top email in my inbox brings me up to date on the fashion imperatives for the season: “Ankle boots are a must-have for fall!” blares the subject line.

It’s tempting, I admit it.

Although I’m not much of a shopper (my friend Josie told me this summer in an accusatory voice that I “shop like a man!”), I still succumb to the pressures of my body-conscious culture: Must have those heels; must have that neckline; must have that image, that look, that appeal.

But now I’m guilt-plagued about all this consumerism. Why is it that I have to have new clothes every season, when the clothes that I had last year still work just fine? How is that those advertisers convince me to surrender so much of my cash just for body image?

So in a rash fit of anti-consumerism, I promised myself last month that I’m not buying any new clothes this year. Used, ok, but not new. I’ll allow myself to switch out some of the clothes I have for something different, but I at least won’t pop for new ones. It’s my small act of resistance against the consumerist onslaught in my inbox.

So far, I’ve discovered that buying used is a lot more fun than I thought.  It’s creativity-inducing, it’s greener, and the price tag is decidedly better. Not to mention the strange sort of satisfaction that comes from realizing that I don’t need as much as I thought I needed.

All in all, I think I’m hooked.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

To defend is to disparage Why I am a Christian

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Webbo  |  October 28, 2008 at 1:46 am

    So your populated inbox is the culprit of this sudden I will buy ‘goodwill’… you should get a better spam blocker… not subscribe to all these shop mailing lists and… if you want to get something new… get it! [TJ Maxx has good deals…] If all that fails, talk to Rosie… I think we three need to talk… 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Jamie  |  November 2, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    Webbo: I should have told you to skip this post, but I didn’t think you read my blog. 😉 I guess this experiment will only last this year, but for now I wanted to try it.

    Does TJ Maxx have good deals? I don’t remember them being necessarily cheap, but maybe I haven’t looked closely enough. Even aside from cost, though, I like the idea of reducing and reusing and recycling, which pushes me toward buying used…

    Reply
  • 3. Webbo  |  November 2, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    I read sometimes out of sheer boredom… 😉 not to say you are boring… ‘Cheap’ is a word that needs definition, I guess… it is very relative, so it just depends on one’s meaning of ‘cheap’. But that is subject for another blog or something…

    So far, the 3 R’s are concepts and ideals that one does well to ascribe to, more power to you… keep it up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Profile

profile.jpgI am working on my M.A. in Religion at Andrews University in Berrien Springs, Michigan. Besides having a big interest in theology, history, ethics, and the deep stuff of life, I am also very fond of Mediterranean food, snow, and the color red.

Email me: jamie.kiley@gmail.com

Recent Posts


